So I went gluten free recently, and that means having to cook a lot of my own foods since most snacky foods or fast foods contain gluten.

Cooking from scratch gets messy. I’ve left hand-shaped marks out of flour, sauces, and many other ingredients during my cooking adventures. So I realized that I need an apron.

I went to JoAnn and went straight to the easy sewing patterns section and found one for an apron that looked pretty simple.

Easy sewing pattern project on Paroxa DesignsI wanted a full body apron so I decided to do the design in the middle. It has pockets, but I have an aversion to food an utensils touching fabric, so I decided not to do the pockets.

It also has little bows on it which I also decided not to do.

So I pulled out the pattern pieces to start cutting.

Laid out easy sewing pattern project from Paroxa DesignsIt’s actually been a while since I used a pattern for sewing. Cutting it out has always been one of the most frustrating parts to me for some reason.

These are the materials I got to do it.

Materials for an apron, an easy sewing project from Paroxa Designs.I went with plain white cotton and aqua/blue accents since the whole color scheme of my apartment living area/kitchen is beachy. I was kind of disappointed to find that since I wasn’t doing the bows, I would only need the bias tape to go all the way around the edge of the apron.

I’ve used bias tape for things like placemats, and it’s always really time consuming so if there’s an alternative I’ll use that.

I did all the cutting and pinning and basting right up until the last step, which was attaching bias tape all the way around the edge. I had decided during the project that I really would rather design my own apron with contrasting pieces of fabric and without multiple yards of bias tape.

I do have one little tip to share for sewing novices though.

2013-07-20 17.21.00When you’re using a sewing pattern, each piece is given a number that’s used to refer to it in the instructions. If you have multiple numbered pieces that are the same shape, it can be helpful to mark them with the number with whatever fabric marking equipment you’re using. I was using disappearing ink on white, but to be safe I wrote it in the seam allowance. When I’m using chalk I just write it big on the piece.

Hopefully soon I’ll have my own personally designed apron to show you!

Connect with me:
Paroxa Designs on TwitterParoxa Designs on PinterestParoxa Designs on EtsyParoxa Designs on Google+

