My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa Designs

When I moved into my empty apartment in May, I was initially using a flipped-over laundry basket as a dining table. When I was able to go to Ikea and upgrade to a real table, I was pretty excited. I then got a bowl to fill with fruit to grab on my way out the door to work and to serve as decoration. But sometimes that bowl looks lonely.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsLike this.

So I decided to put something under that bowl that might jazz up the space a little bit. I clear the table for sewing occasionally, so a full-length table runner or table cloth would get annoying. So instead I decided to sew a small centerpiece. It’s a very easy project to do, so follow along for a guide on how to make one of your own!

What you’ll need for this super easy sewing project:

  • Fabric of your choice. You can use a decorative fabric on top then a basic fabric on the bottom, match top to bottom, two different decorative fabrics, whatever you want to do!
  • Drafting paper
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • And all your basic sewing supplies

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsUsing drafting paper, a pencil, and my ruler, I drew two perpendicular lines that split each other right down the middle. These were my desired length and width, plus seam allowances. So if you want one that’s 22″ long and 16″ wide, with a 1/2″ seam allowance, your lines would be 23″ and 17″.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsNext I sketched a curved line to connect two ends. I chose one curve and erased the rest. It’d be near impossible to replicate this curve by hand three times and have a fully symmetrical centerpiece, so let’s do it an easier way.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsFold your paper along one line, so that your drawn curve is on the bottom layer of paper. You’ll be able to see the curve through the op layer, so trace it onto the top layer and unfold. Repeat by folding along the other line, so you have one full symmetrical shape.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsCut out your shape and press out the creases, just as you would with a store-bought sewing pattern.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsTrace the pattern onto two pieces of fabric. I chose to use a decorative home decor fabric for the top but use plain quilting cotton for the bottom. But this part is totally up to you!

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsPin right sides together, but before you stitch if you’re using a curved shape like mine, it’s a good idea to mark your stitching line before you take it to the machine. Seam allowances can be pretty difficult to stick to on a curved seam, so even though this may feel tedious it will help you keep your place. For more tips on sewing on a curve, check out this helpful resource from Sew4Home.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsYou’ll want to leave a few inches unstitched so that you can flip it inside out. Be sure to make a mark to remind yourself to stop stitching!

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsNow all you have left to do is flip it right side out, press your seam, and slip stitch the opening shut.

My table before sewing an easy home decor DIY project - Paroxa DesignsNow my fruit bowl isn’t quite so lonely.

This is a really easy project to do in an hour or so, and you can make several different centerpieces for different times of the year or events. Hope you enjoy!

Connect with me:
Paroxa Designs on EtsyParoxa Designs on TwitterParoxa Designs on PinterestParoxa Designs on Instagram

